IIHF Women’s World Championship 2022: Schedule, How To Watch, Format

The IIHF Women’s World Championship 2022 returns in Europe, scheduled to begin on Thursday. The event will feature top female hockey players across the globe. First held in 1990, the event is governed by the International Ice Hockey Federation.

Canada has claimed 11 titles so far, being the most in the tournament’s history. The country will appear in the tournament as defending champions. Last year they defeated the United States 3-2 in overtime to lift the trophy. 

When will the tournament be held?

The IIHF Women’s World Championship 2022 will commence on Thursday, August 25 at 9 a.m. ET with Japan vs. USA group stage match. The tournament will come to a conclusion on September 4.

IIHF Women’s World Championship 2022: Full Schedule

Find the full schedule of the tournament below.

Date Event
August 25-30 Preliminary Round
September 1 Quarterfinals
September 3 Semifinals [5–8th place]
September 3 Semifinals 
September 4 3rd & 5th Place Game
September 4 Final

Where will the event take place?

The IIHF Women’s World Championship 2022 will take place at KVIK Hockey Arena, Iscenter Nord located in Herning/Frederikshavn, Denmark.

How can I watch the IIHF Women’s World Championship 2022 on TV?

  • NHL Network (USA)
  • TSN (Canada)

The event will be broadcasted on NHL Network in the United States while TSN reserves the right to air it in Canada.

How To Livestream the event?

  • Sling TV, FuboTV, ESPN+ (USA)
  • TSN.ca, TSN app (Canada)

Fans in the USA can live stream the IIHF Women’s World Championship 2022 on Sling TV, FuboTV, or ESPN+. People from Canada watch it on TSN.ca and TSN app.


For the group stage, ten European teams are divided into two groups, each consisting of five. Here are the teams for the IIHF Women’s World Championship 2022.

No. Group A Group B
1 United States Sweden
2 Canada Hungary
3 Switzerland Czechia
4 Finland Germany
5 Japan Denmark

IIHF Women’s World Championship 2022 Format:

Since its establishment in 1990, the IIHF Women’s World Championship has come across format changes a few times. In 2019, initially, ten teams are divided into two groups of five to play in a round-robin format.

Later, the five teams in Group A and the top three from Group B advance to the Quarterfinals. The bottom two teams in Group B play for the 9th position. 

Meanwhile, the four teams defeated in the quarterfinals clash in a knockout tournament. The winning team secures 5th place as well as confirmed a spot in Group A for the next edition.

Rocket Mortgage Classic 2023: Schedule, TV, Live Stream, Course, and Tee Times

Detroit’s famous PGA Tour event is back for the ongoing season. Read all about the upcoming Rocket Mortgage Classic 2023 schedule, live stream, and...

How to watch Eastbourne International 2023 Live Stream?

The latest professional tennis event of both ATP and WTA is currently getting underway in the United Kingdom. Here you can find the best...

How to watch Tour de France 2023 Live Stream?

UCI’s famous month-long annual cycling event is finally knocking at the door. Cycling fans worldwide are excitedly awaiting the event to start this Saturday...


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

DMCA.com Protection Status